Save up to $1500 on Test Prep! Ends Thursday, June 30. Learn more.

Event

Name Your Changing Role: How to Be a Great College Parent and Help Your Student Make a Successful Transition
Date Jul 27 (Wed)
8:00pm EDT / 5:00pm PDT
Duration: 1h 00m
Location Online
Description

Settling into college life is a big step for students and a big adjustment for parents, too! The roles and responsibilities of the new college parent are not clearly defined. How do you learn to be a supportive college parent while making sure your student has the skills they need to succeed?

Join special guest speaker, Dr. Andrea Malkin Brenner, college transition educator, creator of the Talking College (TM) Cards, and co-author of How to College: What to Know Before You Go (and When You're There), for this practical session on things you can do to support your student's success in college while lessening your involvement in their daily lives as they become more self-reliant. Topics will include:

  • Teaching students to understand the responsibilities that come with independence
  • Preparing them for the differences between high school and college academics
  • Practicing self-sufficient problem-solving
  • Learning to build resilience after challenges and setbacks
Price Free

Sign Up

Attendee Information

Log In To Sign Up

Similar Events

June 2022

Jun 28 (Tue)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
SAT vs ACT: The Differences, the Timelines, and the Expectations of Colleges

July 2022

Jul 7 (Thu)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
How to Tame Anxiety and Build Motivation
Jul 11 (Mon)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
How to Become a Stronger Writer
Jul 12 (Tue)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
SAT v. ACT: The differences, the timelines, and the expectations of colleges
Jul 14 (Thu)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
Navigating the College Admissions Process
Jul 26 (Tue)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
Teens + Tech: Practical Tips for Parents

August 2022

Aug 1 (Mon)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
Teens + Friends: How to Build Your Student's Social/Emotional Skills
Aug 9 (Tue)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
What Does Test Optional Mean for Me?
Aug 10 (Wed)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
Navigating the College Admissions Process
Aug 16 (Tue)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
Tips for Reducing Math Anxiety
Aug 18 (Thu)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
LD/ADHD: How to Support Students Who Learn Differently
Aug 23 (Tue)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
Transitioning to Middle School: Tips for Parents
Aug 24 (Wed)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
Transitioning to High School: Tips for Parents
Aug 30 (Tue)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
College Essay Dos and Don'ts with Kim Lifton
Aug 31 (Wed)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
Teens + Anxiety: How Parents Can Help

September 2022

Sep 1 (Thu)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
Navigating the College Admissions Process
Sep 7 (Wed)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
Brain Science 101: Gems from the Research on Student Success
Sep 8 (Thu)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
SAT v. ACT: The differences, the timelines, and the expectations of colleges
Sep 13 (Tue)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
How to Reduce Anxiety and Get Motivated
Sep 21 (Wed)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
Polish your Study Skills: how to Shine Bright at School
Sep 28 (Wed)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
Your Moment of Brilliance: How to Show what you know
Sep 29 (Thu)
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT
How to Achieve School/Life Balance