Event

Name Taming the Tiger of Test Anxiety
Date Apr 26, 2017 (Wed)
6:00pm - 7:00pm
Location Wheeler High School
375 Holt Road Northeast
Marietta, GA 30068

Room: Media Center
Speaker

Jed Applerouth

Description

Anxiety hits us all at some point in our lives; however, for many aspiring college students, high-stakes testing brings anxiety levels to new heights and test performance to new lows. But there is hope! There are interventions that effectively reduce test anxiety and lead to performance gains. Let's discuss practical strategies you can use to help your anxious testers. Let's explore potential confounding factors such as processing speed deficits and learning differences, familial expectations, generalized anxiety disorders, metacognition, and self-regulation strategies. Help your students take the edge off of high-stakes testing.

Price Unavailable

Similar Events

July 2018

Jul 24 (Tue)
9:00am - 10:00am EDT
SAT vs. ACT
Jul 31 (Tue)
7:00pm - 8:00pm EDT
Official ACT Understanding Your Scores

August 2018

Aug 6 (Mon)
7:00pm - 8:00pm EDT
The Importance of School Selection, Merit Aid, and Test Prep
Aug 14 (Tue)
10:00am - 11:00am EDT
Understanding International Merit Aid
Aug 16 (Thu)
7:00pm - 8:00pm EDT
Mapping Out Your College Admissions Testing Plan
Aug 21 (Tue)
7:00pm - 8:00pm EDT
Time to Write Those College Essays! How Parents Can Help Without Overstepping
Aug 23 (Thu)
9:00am - 10:00am EDT
College Admissions Testing Timeline for International Students
Aug 29 (Wed)
12:00pm - 1:00pm EDT
Addressing the Female Confidence Gap

September 2018

Sep 13 (Thu)
12:00pm - 1:00pm EDT
Helping Your Students with LDs Become Super Testers
Sep 18 (Tue)
7:00pm - 8:00pm EDT
SAT vs. ACT
Sep 25 (Tue)
7:00pm - 8:00pm EDT
Taming the Tiger of Test Anxiety

October 2018

Oct 2 (Tue)
7:00pm - 8:00pm EDT
Helping Students Reduce Anxiety, Become Motivated, and Study Smarter
Oct 3 (Wed)
12:00pm - 1:00pm EDT
Gender in Education and College Admissions
Oct 16 (Tue)
7:00pm - 8:00pm EDT
The PSAT is Over - Time to Create a Testing Plan
Oct 23 (Tue)
7:00pm - 8:00pm EDT
The Art of Motivation
Oct 30 (Tue)
7:00pm - 8:00pm EDT
Addressing the Female Confidence Gap

November 2018

Nov 8 (Thu)
7:00pm - 8:00pm EST
Understanding FAFSA, Financial Aid, and the CSS Profile
Nov 13 (Tue)
7:00pm - 8:00pm EST
Building Resilient, Gritty Students

December 2018

Dec 13 (Thu)
7:00pm - 8:00pm EST
All About PSAT, SAT, & ACT